administrative efficiency 

Temple cited in Case Studies in Benchmarking Against Peer Institutionsas a best practice in administrative efficiency among peer institutions. “In the end any organization can reduce cost. That’s easy. The important thing here is that you need to maintain, or even improve, your effectiveness as you reduce costs.” To ensure they were making financial decisions that would positively impact their mission, Temple partnered with HelioCampus to benchmark their spending against peer institutions and track their effectiveness.”


Following Temple’s first institutional review of RCM, there was a call for greater transparency in cost setting and quality assurance within the operation and administration of the university. Beginning in FY2019, the Cost & Services Committee has focused on defining services, setting expectations, measuring impact, and validating funding. Based on the annual budget planning cycle, this committee meets four to six times each year to select central support unit(s) for assessment, prioritize the development of Service Level Agreements and Key Performance Indicators, and assist with the evaluation of proposals for new funding. The committee is comprised of deans and central service providers who have an interest in supporting the following tasks:

  • Conduct operational review to evaluate effectiveness of existing services provided by central units
  • Understand the market-based pricing methods and quality expectations for services

  • Review and approve internal charges based on established principles to keep costs both low and fair

  • Develop and prioritize opportunities to document feedback and identify gaps

  • Establish performance management framework for each service provider


  • Sharmayne S. Burns, Assistant Dean, Beasley School of Law
  • Susan Cahan, Dean, Tyler School of Art & Architecture
  • Katie D’Angelo, AVP Administration & Planning
  • Richard Deeg, Dean, College of Liberal Arts
  • Marylouise Esten, Deputy Provost
  • Amid Ismail, Dean, Kornberg School of Dentistry
  • Jaison Kurichi, AVP Budget & Finance, Chair
  • Jonathan Reiter, AVP Finance & Operations
  • Robert Stroker, Dean, Center for the Performing and Cinematic Arts
  • Bill Wilkinson, Sr. AVP Finance and Administration, Provost